FAQ

Since General d’Armee was released we have been monitoring the initial questions being asked and also looking for areas where the rules could be improved, either by clarification or by addition. The net result has been this opening FAQs & Rule Amendments document. Our plan is for this to be a “live” document which is updated periodically as new questions and new ideas arise.

Many thanks to all the General de Brigade and TooFatLardies forum contributors who assisted with ideas and suggestions for this General d’Armee and Pickett’s Charge update.

COMMAND

1. Infantry Assault Order.

For an Assault order to be successfully received the brigade must obey orders on the turn the Assault order was issued. If the brigade fails its command roll the order has not got through and will need to be re-issued in the following turn/s, at the 2 ADC cost. But once successfully in place the order remains fixed, regardless of any future hesitant command roll results, until the order is completed, changed or a Faltering Brigade command roll changes the situation. (p31)

2. Redeploy Order.

Definition: Either a) Retire a front line brigade back into reserve. The brigade falls back behind the front line and adopts a new position, (this new position should be stated or written down) along the player’s table edge, up to 30cm [12”]. Or b) Retire the brigade to behind the front line and then it adopts a new position either to the left or right of its original position, (this new position should be stated or written down).

A Redeploy order is not required for brigades that are simply attacking or engaging the enemy and their axis or line of advance takes the brigade across the face of, or to the left or right of other brigades.

For a Redeploy order to be successfully received the brigade must obey orders on the turn the Redeploy order was issued. If the brigade fails its command roll then the order has not got through and will need to be re-issued in the following turn/s at the 2 ADC cost. Once successfully in place (i.e. the brigade obeys orders) the Redeploy order remains fixed regardless of any future hesitant command roll results, until the order is completed, changed or a Faltering Brigade command roll changes the situation. (I.E. If the brigade falters and then receives a Retire or worse result whilst redeploying then the redeployment order is removed.) (p32)

3. Faltering Brigades Command Roll.

Faltering brigades only roll on the Faltering Brigade Table – they do not make a separate command roll followed by a faltering brigade command roll, only roll once against the Faltering Brigade Table. (p35-36)

4. Demoralised Brigades.

Only brigades that are currently demoralised will disperse if further units disperse from within the command. E.G. If a brigade has three units and is currently steady but then loses two units so causing the brigade to both falter and be demoralised. The brigade will not disperse at this point as it was not already demoralised at the time of the unit dispersals. Should the brigade fail its subsequent command roll and remain faltering then it would disperse. (p10, 34, 86)

5. Rallying Units.

When the brigade obeys orders all brigade retreating and routing units immediately rally and are considered unformed. They will remain unformed until an entire movement phase is spent to reform. Thus if a rallied unit is charged in the immediate following charge phase it will be considered unformed. (p34, 83)

6. Out Of Command.

If units that are out of command decide to exercise the retire option, this is classed as a voluntary retire, (p83), even if they are still formed. The unit must fall back either towards the friendly table edge or on a friendly unit. (p9, 83)

CHARGES

1. Faltering Brigades and Charges.

  1. Brigades that are Faltering in the Command phase may not declare charges.
  2. Non-phasing player’s brigades that were Obeying Orders in the Command phase and declared charges in the Charge phase may still carry out these charges even if the phasing player’s charges then cause that brigade to Falter. These charges still continue (because they were declared when the brigade was obeying orders and before it faltered) but all charges will now suffer the Brigades is Faltering -1 modifier in the Charge procedure. (p25, 34-35, 41)

2. Targets of a Charge.

Targets of a Charge cannot make their own Charge Declaration. Any non-phasing players units that are declared the target of a charge may not declare their own charge. They simply act as per the Charge Procedure Tables. (p26, 40, 45)

3. Defending Cavalry Supports

Defending Cavalry Supports cannot make their own Charge Declaration, unless an Opportunity Charge. Any non-phasing players units that are a support of a friendly unit declared the target of a charge may not declare their own charge, except for an Opportunity Charge. (p26, 40, 45, 51) (This differs lightly to the advice given on the TFL forum, but makes for a far simpler procedure by avoiding numerous individual charges. It also means winning the Initiative has significance.)

4. Who can Support whom?

  1. Cavalry cannot support infantry.
  2. Infantry cannot support cavalry.
  3. Cavalry can now support artillery if the artillery are the target unit.
  4. Infantry can now support artillery if the artillery are the target unit.
  5. Artillery, both horse and foot, never provide a support reroll. Artillery may only offer defensive fire. (p42-43)

5. Flank Supports

Flank Supports position in relation to their Lead Charge Unit. Flank supports can be either level, behind or in front of the lead charge unit – as long as they are within 5cms [3″] when the charge is declared. (p42)

6. Charing through your own skirmish screen.

If your skirmishers are not completely passed through by chargers, or too close to the charge or simply in the way of units, then move the entire skirmish screen either to the flanks, to cover or to the rear of friendly close order units. This is classed as movement in the charge phase. (p60)

7. Charges against an enemy close order unit screed by skirmishers.

The entire enemy skirmisher screen must evade, but may fire first if the chargers are infantry. The charge may then continue on into the close order target. All casualties caused count in the charge, that’s both skirmish casualties and any enemy close order fire casualties. (p40, 45, 50)

8. Infantry Facing Cavalry Charges.

  1. Infantry who wish to remain in Line when charged by cavalry must take a Discipline Test at the 5cms [3″] point, before firing.
  2. If charged by cavalry who started from under 15cm [9″], infantry in Line must take and pass a Discipline Test at the 5cms [3″] point and no reaction move or formation change is permitted, except defensive fire.
  3. If charged by cavalry who started from at least 15cm [9″] away, infantry must take and pass a Discipline Test at the 5cms [3″] point in order to successfully form square. (p40, 44)

9. Defending Cavalry Manoeuvre.

Cavalry defending in a charge are limited to a manoeuvre of wheeling of up to half a move (or about face if Elite/Veteran). No other reaction, except closing to melee, is permitted. (p44)

10. Defending Flank Supports Manoeuvre & Fire.

These units can wheel to bring the chargers into fire arc. They will be classed as having moved when applying the fire table modifiers. (p40, 44)

11. Infantry Column charged in the Flank / Rear.

No column benefit applies when vs. cavalry and charged from the flank or rear. The +2 Infantry in Column vs. cavalry only applies when charged from the front. (p46, 47)

12. An unformed “column of mob” is charged.

Unformed “columns of mob” (applies to retiring/retreating/routing units) gain no column benefit whatsoever when charged. (p83)

13. Charge Target Evades or Disperses – Chargers Options.

Chargers may choose to either:

  1. Take the Ground
  2. charge on and catch the evaders if the chargers have sufficient charge move to reach or c) continue the charge straight ahead against any new target within reach using the remaining charge movement. Simply repeat the charge procedure against the new target. (p50)

CHARGE & SUPPORTS EXAMPLES

1. How Supports operate in a Charge.

In this example, (see picture 1 below) a Russian Dragoon brigade (with attached Cossacks) is attacking a French Light cavalry brigade. The Russian player has the Initiative and declares Unit 1 is charging the French chasseurs directly opposing them. The Russian player elects to support with Units 2 and 3. The Russian player has the option to use units 2 or 3 and these are not compulsory, but decides to use all his available weight to overthrow the enemy. The French player, not needing to manoeuvre (which is his only reaction possible), now takes part in the charge procedure. (There is no requirement to declare a counter-charge as the charge procedure will determine the unit’s reaction for the players). In addition the French Hussars, left of the chasseurs, must be included as a support and cannot declare their own separate charge against any other unit, unless Opportunity charging. (p42, 44)

2. How Supports close to melee in a Charge.

Continuing our example (see picture 2 below), the Russian player now moves Unit 1 up to the 5cm [3″] point. The Russian supports, Units 2 and 3 maintain their respective positions in relation to their lead unit and also move up. (Had these supports been deployed slightly behind Unit 1 they would not halt at the 5cm [3″] point but simply keep their positions in relation to Unit 1.) Both player now conduct the charge procedure with the Russian player receiving up to 2 support rerolls, (the Dragoons and cossacks) and the French payer receiving 1 support reroll, (the Hussars). The Russians win by 2, a Attacker = Melee : Defender Counter-charge and Melee result. As such the French cavalry move up and close to melee. This sees Russian Units 1 and 2 opposing both French cavalry units. Russian unit 3, the Cossacks cannot close to melee. Why? Because their remaining forward movement cannot bring them into contact with any part of the opposing French chasseurs unit and they cannot wheel once the charge has moved out. Thus the Cossacks hold in position and are not considered part of the melee. Should the melee progress to a second round the Cossacks could then commit as they are a supporting unit and within support distance. (p44, 46, 49, 90)

Variations:

  1. Change Unit 2’s initial start position to 5cm further back than Unit 1, but still close enough to be classed a flank support. Russian Unit 1 is now at the full extent of its charge move to reach the French cavalry, which means that Unit 2 although it could move up and support, its full charge move brings it short of base to base contact, therefore it cannot take part in the initial round of melee, as it cannot contact the opposing enemy cavalry. (Should the melee progress to a second round Unit 2 could then commit as they are a supporting unit and within support distance.)
  2. The Russians now win the Charge procedure by 3, a Melee with Élan : Defender Unformed Result. All attacking units able to reach base to base contact would melee with élan, while both French units would be unformed.

3. Defending Cavalry Support Opportunity Charge Option.

In this example, (see picture 3 below) the Austrian player has the Initiative and declares a charge with the Austrian Hussar regiment (Unit 1) against some badly worn Saxon Hussars (Unit 2) holding 8 casualties, with elite French carabiniers in support, (Unit 3). The French carabiniers are now drawn in automatically as a support for the Saxons, but may exercise the opportunity charge option.

4. Defending Cavalry Support declaring an Opportunity Charge.

The French player decides to declare an opportunity charge, (see picture 4, below) as he does not want his elite carabiniers to simply support the Saxons in a situation that could see the weak Saxon cavalry defeated and then drag the carabiniers back with them. First, he takes and passes a Discipline Test permitting the opportunity charge to go ahead, thus the Austrian charge is now cancelled and the Hussars move up to 5cm and then simply act as the target of the French charge. Now the carabiniers wheel to bring them into line with the Austrian Hussars and then conduct their charge moving to the 5cm [3″] point. (Note that opportunity charges cannot be supported.) Had the carabiniers failed their discipline test, the Austrian Hussars would have carried on with their charge, uninterrupted.

MOVEMENT

1. Forming Square during a Charge.

Discipline Test Results – a “4-6 = unit unformed” result means the formation change has not been completed – the unit remains in its original formation and is now also classed as unformed. (The unformed result also applies to infantry attempting to remain in line vs. cavalry.)

2. Unformed.

An unformed unit still maintains all the benefits of its formation even when unformed. Thus an unformed square gains +2 vs. cavalry, but of course will suffer a -2 for being unformed, the same applies to an infantry column vs. cavalry.

3. Unformed by Retreating/Routing Friends in the Charge Phase.

A unit, not involved in charges, that was passed through by retreating or routing friendly units in the charge phase may reform in the immediate following movement phase.

4. Artillery “Step Back”.

Use the manhandle distance of 5cm [3″].

5. Skirmishers

Skirmishers may step-back, move to the flank and pass through BUA’s at their standard movement rate, 20cm [12″].

6. Hesitant Brigade Movement. (Optional)

Movement to the rear or to either flank that brings a unit closer to the enemy is now permitted, provided the unit is behind or sheltered by friendly close order troops and not in danger of being charged or targeted by enemy fire.

FIRING

1. Firing & Measuring the Range.

Measure from the centre or middle base of the firing unit (from the front base edge) to the nearest point of the target. Players may measure the range before firing.

2. Columns Firing.

Columns fire as normal then halve all casualties caused, rounding down any half casualty. If a column is firing at a BUA the casualties are halved twice, i.e. quartered.

3. Destiny & Double 6 with Casualty Dice.

“Double sixes” from casualty dice do not cause a Destiny Table roll.

SKIRMISHERS

1. Reinforcing The Skirmish Line.

Players may choose to reinforce the skirmish line before the start of the game, as a pre-game option.

2. Skirmish Base Size.

Ideally a skirmish base should be roughly half as wide again as your standard close order infantry base up to double the width. E.G. If your 15mm close order bases are 4cms wide then your skirmish bases should be about 6cm wide, up to 8cm as the maximum. (However it is accepted that players may have very different basing systems and as long as players agree amongst themselves a set size or distance between skirmish bases that should be fine, after all I suspect most Napoleonic skirmishers did not keep hard and fast deployment spacing in battle.)

MORALE

Retreating or Routing units Falling Back On Supporting Close Order Units. These supports can be any friendly unit; infantry, cavalry or artillery and can be from any brigade. The supports can be either formed or unformed but cannot be skirmishers, retreating or routing units. (These supporting units should not be confused with charge supports and do not have to be within support distance of 5cm [3″], etc.)

MELEE

1. Flank Supports & Melee.

A flank support can take part in the first round of melee if it had sufficient charge movement to physically reach base to base contact with the enemy lead unit or enemy flank support.

2. Melee with Élan.

  1. When a Melee with Élan charge result is obtained the lead unit and all supports fighting in the melee, gain the benefit.
  2. When an Unformed charge result is obtained the lead unit and all supports are unformed.

3. Reinforcing a Melee.

Any unit within support distance that is formed and in command may reinforce a 2nd melee round, even if it moved its full move in the movement phase.

4. Reinforcing a Melee and Casualty Dice.

Each unit in melee receives its own set of melee casualty dice, plus or minus all appropriate individual modifiers. Each reinforcing unit in melee also receives its own set of melee casualty dice, plus or minus all its appropriate modifiers.

5. Second Melee round vs. BUA.

Infantry battalions reinforcing a melee in a BUA in the second do not suffer the -1CD for attacking a BUA, as this only applies to the first round of the on-going melee, and not the first round that units fight in the melee.

6. Multiple Unit Melees – deciding the Winner.

All melee hits are totalled for the final result. The side that inflicts the most combined casualties overall is the winner.

7. Melee Winner reaches Casualty Dispersal Point.

If the winner of the melee reaches its dispersal point, then the loser will gain a pyrrhic victory! The original losing side now converts to the winner, ignores any retreat or rout result and simply takes the ground, unformed.